Life – With a pinch of salt

Everything passes. It has to. That's the beauty and tragedy of it.

Someday, I promise…

Someday,
I shall be truly free
Of the shackles I have put on me
Goaded by the world into compliance and silence
Deluded by their fake, lofty, glittery promises
Someday…

Someday,
I shall wake up and smile
And welcome the day with real joy
And enjoy my being alive and awake
And breathe in the crisp air of disillusion
Someday…

Someday,
I shall offer the world in alms
My clipped wings, my mask, my gold-plated laurels
With careless abandon, and say,
“Your rules and jibes mean nothing to me anymore”
Someday…

Someday,
I shall walk away without a backward glance
Wearing just my smile and confidence
And build myself a refuge of contentment
From the ashes of life-lessons gathered
Someday, I promise…

pensive

3 comments on “Someday, I promise…

  1. Words from a little person
    November 11, 2016

    Beautiful poem

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2016 by in Life stories, Musings, Poetry, Point of view and tagged , , , , .
