Life – With a pinch of salt

Everything passes. It has to. That's the beauty and tragedy of it.

Mirage…

I know you are not here yet.
You are just an illusion, my dear.
A mirage on the thirsty sands of my heart.
Like a dream that disappears with the morning mist.

I have not felt your presence yet,
You are but a figment of my imagination.
A memory of a favorite but long forgotten song,
Flickering in my mind, just out of reach.

I look for you with famished eyes,
Praying for a glimmer of hope, a sign, any sign.
This cycle of hope and despair is too much to bear,
And I can no longer pretend not to care.

I have been a believer and an atheist alike.
I have reasoned with, groveled, and threatened God.
I have cursed my fate and yet trudged on ahead,
My faith renewed, until the next time.

I know not if there is a light at the end of this tunnel
For, today you are a mystery in the twilight
But you will be here with me one day, by my side.
Real, tangible, all smiles and warmth and beauty.

My dreams stretch on...into the horizon...

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , .
